Archived Sections, National Lutheran News

Kieschnick re-elected LCMS president

He was opposed by several more-conservative candidates

Moderation seemed to motivate voting delegates to the 62nd regular convention of the Lutheran Church—Missouri Synod. Meeting July 11-15 in St. Louis, Missouri, delegates re-elected incumbent president Gerald Kieschnick to a second three year term.
More conservative partisans in the already-conservative 2.5 million member denomination, many of whom were angry that Kieschnick had supported a district president’s public prayer at an ecumenical gathering, had hoped to unseat him.
But four challengers, including the Synod’s first vice-president, Daniel Preus, were unsuccessful in their bid to win the leadership spot. Subsequently, Preus, who had been outspoken in his criticism of Kieschnick, lost his bid for another term as first vice-president.
Kieschnick was re-elected on the first ballot, in voting held on July 11. He received nearly 53% of the ballots cast, or 653 votes. Preus was second, with 391. Dean O. Wenthe, president of Con-cordia Theological Seminary, Fort Wayne, Indiana, was third, with 107.
Defeating Preus for first vice-president was Oklaho-ma District President Wil-liam Diekelman. Elected to positions of second through fifth vice-president respectively were Dr. Paul Maier (previously fourth vice-president); the Rev. Dean Nadasdy, who serves Wood-bury (Minnesota) Lutheran Church; Dr. Robert King; and Dr. David Buegler.
Voting delegates also approved a resolution de-claring that marriage should continue to be understood as the union of one man and one woman.